2017 Goals: Where Am I At?

Standard

April has been an eventful month so far.

The paychecks have finally rolled in, praise God, and we have been able to almost catch up to where we left off before that three-month valley. The situation is not ideal by any means, but the bills will be paid.

I had a wisdom tooth removed four days ago, and boy, recovery has been rough. But normal life must start up again next week, so I’m hoping the swelling and headache will dissipate over the weekend. Of course our daughter conveniently decided to have a growth spurt during this time, so she has been skipping naps (read: no naps for mom) and asking for food basically every hour (read: movement ughh). I’m certain she’s going to be a giant.

The hubby landed a paid internship at a well-known retail company a couple weeks ago, and we are thrilled! It’ll be ten weeks long starting in June and may turn into a secured management position when he graduates in A YEAR, Lord willing! Trying to keep my feet on the ground here.

Contentment. I was tested this month for sure. Marriage, money, health, parenting — every day is full of opportunities to either complain or be content. Particularly with marriage; not that it’s been awful or anything, but it’s not a fairy tale by any means… not even in that cute, “real” way that is often talked about. But it occurred to me that my heart is seeking after something — a feeling, a reality, a security — that I will not find in another human who is not Jesus. But you know what? I will absolutely find satisfaction in Jesus, no matter the need or want. Marriage is not the fairy tale; Jesus is the fairy tale!

Obtain Texas CSR license and RPR Certification; get familiar with my realtime software; proactively incorporate more briefs. Just today I started a little bit of self-directed training with my software. I’ve decided that the goal of getting familiar with my software will be met when I come to the point when I’ve done all I can to learn it by myself and must then reach out to experienced reporters. This is fresh motivation.

Pay off credit cards and at least one car. We paid off two of our four cards already this month! After we file our taxes we’ll have a better idea of how much we can put toward the remaining accounts. I revised this goal a little because that’s what we decided is best right now while paying off debt. We’d love to pay our student loans first, but the cars have higher interest, so those are going first.

Make music. Nope, nothing here.

Act on the home project urges. Well, it’s only now that I can even consider home projects. Easter is around the corner and I wanted to make some decorations, in addition to my daughter’s birthday gift(s), but it’s not planned out in the budget yet. Hopefully I’ll have something to report next month.

Leave a Reply

