2016 Goals: Where Am I At?

Standard

Already a week into my favorite month of the year and I’m only now getting around to posting an update. September was a full month of WORK. So much work. I am so thankful for the Lord providing us work, for keeping me safe on the road, for keeping my equipment running smoothly, for some really great confidence-building experiences, and that I haven’t chopped off any fingers yet in the kitchen (I worry about this all the time).

The hubs and I are experimenting with a new arrangement that will exist either until all our debts are paid off or he finds a better job than me: He is staying home with our daughter while I go out and work. We save money on babysitting and our daughter is still being raised by a parent at home. The Lord just has not presented him fitting work opportunities (although we have been waiting several weeks to hear about one last option of working for a small business owner). So we’ve gotta do what we’ve gotta do. We’re gonna hustle in the way we are able until our debt is paid off and we can relocate to another state for, Lord willing, a simpler, slower life.

The nights are cooling off now and the days, while still very warm, are shortening. So every time I go grocery shopping I sneak a pumpkin or two into my cart and set them up around the house for some fall cheer. I’m really excited about the holidays this year because 1) I’ve diligently saved a secret stash of cash for gifts, which I am thrilled about putting together for everyone this year; 2) we are doing our own thing and not putting ourselves under obligations we later resent; and 3) thanks to my live-in-the-moment mindset lately, we’re going to do more season-specific family activities that will hopefully leave great memories behind. The time is NOW. Don’t wait for a special occasion; make the occasion special!

However, right now it is difficult to do “fall” things when you feel like you’re frying up in a sunbeam through a magnifying glass.

  • Priority:  Start each day off with the Lord and remember that my life, my soul, and my loved ones depend on it. Wake up early; begin day in the Word and in prayer; and use extra alone-time to work out, shower, and start breakfast before the little wakes up. :: Back in my long-term plan to read an entire NT commentary; I’m about 2/3 of the way done with the first book that covers Matthew 1-7. Started reading the Psalms again. I also use my work commutes to listen to sermons. When I have a few minutes in the morning or before bed, I have a few books I’m hoping to finish soon. Haven’t hit the prayer journal very much, though.
  • Give more: Give more of my time, my money, my energy, and my heart to others. :: God is certainly providing opportunities here, the uncomfortable, (almost) thankless, character-stretching kind that nobody likes that much. But if my motive is knowing that the Lord is pleased when I am faithful and generous with the things He’s given me; that He is literally working through me, helping me obey the commands He Himself gives; and that eternal rewards are waiting in heaven, my perspective changes — no, *I* change, and suddenly my circumstances seem different because my heart is different. Wow!
  • Make our home a pleasant place to live in:  Simplify by getting rid of unused items; efficiently organize what we keep; make what we have more comfortable; and creatively decorate on a budget. :: Well, there are pumpkins everywhere! Lol!
  • Pay off debt: Put an end to our consumer debts and start chipping away at our student loan debt. :: One credit card is paid off; three more to go! THEN we can direct that money to our loans!
  • T-Tapp program: Therapeutically approach my fitness with T-Tapp, yoga, and daily walking. :: Still T-Tapping once or twice a week, and I’ve reincorporated 10-minute yoga sequences right afterward. While I love doing this, it leaves me so tired so early in the evening. However, I have felt better lately even with so little exercise thanks to taking cod liver oil AND high-vitamin butter oil together for the first time, in addition to some probiotics. Those B vitamins didn’t make a noticeable difference, so I discontinued them. Next on my list is a magnesium supplement.
  • Overhaul wardrobe: Create a capsule wardrobe as nice as my budget will allow. :: Might be doing some shopping tomorrow with my sister-in-law. If I thought I needed stuff for summer, I REALLY need stuff for winter, and now my daughter does too. 
  • RPR: Plan to take the last RPR of 2016! No idea what this actually looks like yet, but I will start planning soon. :: My goal is to register for the RPR next month, meaning I will probably take it sometime in November, provided I don’t run into technical snafus, which definitely happened in school and were a nightmare.

Here’s to making the most of October!

Leave a Reply

