2016 Goals: Where Am I At?

Standard

I just glanced over last month’s 2016 goals update and am thankful to announce that God faithfully brought us through all of that. He always does, but it’s a privilege to be on the other side, looking backward with relief. It’s been smoother sailing these last couple of weeks. With babysitters out of town and the hubs/daughter catching a mild cold, staying home was my only option for most of the time, and it was restful.

I got antsy to work again, however. This antsiness caused me to wonder what my underlying motives to work are. Is it really because of my family’s financial needs and I take that burden seriously? Is it my addiction to being productive in general because I want to uphold an image of not wasting a single day of my life? Is it because deep down I don’t want to be domestic; I want to be the independent career woman who is monetarily successful and recognized by the world?

It’s probably a little of each thing. Most of all, however, I was grateful that I not only have a career skill, but a skill that I love and take a lot of pride in. It is certainly work, not play, and balancing (more like teeter-tottering in my case) being in the workforce and in the home is a frequent, relentless, grisly struggle. My heart is and always will be absolutely at home. But it is rare that a stay-at-home mom has the option to work flexibly around her priorities (home and family and ministry) and still bring in good paychecks.

On that note, I am so excited that it’s almost fall! I plan to be intentional about enjoying it this year — spending more time outside and providing themed activities for the family, especially as the holidays come up. I want my family to have good memories. Now is the time to make them, not when it feels convenient.

  • Priority:  Start each day off with the Lord and remember that my life, my soul, and my loved ones depend on it. Wake up early; begin day in the Word and in prayer; and use extra alone-time to work out, shower, and start breakfast before the little wakes up. :: Bible time has been on and off this month too. I have almost used up a prayer journal I started two years ago — the first journal I’ve ever stuck with till the end. When I fill out the last page, I may go through the whole thing again and see how God has grown me since I started it. It scares me a little bit, though, because most of what’s in there is pretty raw and sensitive.
  • Give more: Give more of my time, my money, my energy, and my heart to others. :: I don’t mean to sound unbiblical and selfish, but I’ve been giving to myself more and more lately, using some time to care for myself. And wouldn’t you know it, my family is enjoying me more because I am happier. Within reason and wisdom, knowing how to care for yourself because others can’t or won’t (not that we should really be depending on them in the first place) is a really helpful thing.
  • Make our home a pleasant place to live in:  Simplify by getting rid of unused items; efficiently organize what we keep; make what we have more comfortable; and creatively decorate on a budget. :: Right when I decided to stop caring about the constant mess around here, the hubby cleaned everything up for me without me asking. He’s also going through and slowly cleaning out old clothes he no longer wears so we can donate them. I’m super excited about these things, but I haven’t otherwise done much for the house lately.
  • Pay off debt: Put an end to our consumer debts and start chipping away at our student loan debt. :: I am going to be working a lot these next few months, so I hope and pray we can get back on track with this.
  • T-Tapp program: Therapeutically approach my fitness with T-Tapp, yoga, and daily walking. :: Still not much activity here. T-Tapping happens once or twice a week. But I’ve at least been considering going back out for a short daily walk again as the weather starts cooling down. Maybe those fancy B vitamins I’m taking really are working, because I actually want to do something about feeling weak and stiff because of lack of movement.
  • Overhaul wardrobe: Create a capsule wardrobe as nice as my budget will allow. :: Never found T-shirts, and it’s already time to shop for fall. Definitely not complaining.
  • RPR: Plan to take the last RPR of 2016! No idea what this actually looks like yet, but I will start planning soon. :: My application for licensure by endorsement in the state of Texas was unanimously denied by the members of the certification board. I don’t know when (or even if) I will end up taking the full test, but I’m honestly not worried. I will pursue the RPR and really focus on getting comfortable with my software, because I think I want to dive into realtime reporting by the end of next year!
Leave a Reply

