2016 Goals: Where Am I At?

Standard

A little late on my monthly update again. June was nuts. The hubby and I were in a wedding, our dog was violently ill for two weeks (either poisoning or medication allergy), the hubby was in and out of town for work, our roommate moved out (and we “moved in” to our extra bedroom, now an office), and I had several big jobs to tackle on top of it all. This is also a difficult season of parenting, so basically every single day is demanding in countless small, almost undetectable ways.

Not to mention, my hormones were a real pain (literally) this month because of the stress. My threshold seems to be decreasing. I ordered some fancy vitamin B supplements today with high hopes they will help me like they’ve helped a friend of mine.

  • Priority:  Start each day off with the Lord and remember that my life, my soul, and my loved ones depend on it. Wake up early; begin day in the Word and in prayer; and use extra alone-time to work out, shower, and start breakfast before the little wakes up. :: We are doing Bible time in the morning together now. What’s felt like ineffective parenting has driven me to start taking my daughter to the Word. Not only are we spending quality time together, but also we both really need Jesus every single day, and it seems like a great time to make that part of her daily routine.
  • Give more: Give more of my time, my money, my energy, and my heart to others. :: Again, this cannot be measured. But I have a really special project in mind for specific people that I’ve started putting together. It will take several months to complete, so my goal is to have it finished by next June so I can mail out the gift to different families. More about this later.
  • Make our home a pleasant place to live in:  Simplify by getting rid of unused items; efficiently organize what we keep; make what we have more comfortable; and creatively decorate on a budget. :: The office was our focus this month, because we now have one again. More organization than decoration, which is fine with me. I don’t want to spend money after all those vet bills we racked up. *sigh*
  • Pay off debt: Put an end to our consumer debts and start chipping away at our student loan debt. :: Oh, yeah, speaking of bills… The credit cards got loaded up again and I hate it. No wonder I’m bummed. I can’t pay my student loans if we have this debt too! And we can’t save money while we have any debt at all! Aargh!
  • T-Tapp program: Therapeutically approach my fitness with T-Tapp, yoga, and daily walking. :: I love T-Tapp! I feel great when I do it, and my daughter is so cute — she tries doing the movements with me (when her attention span will allow). I got out for my first walk in months two days ago. It is crucial just to get up and get moving every day, but I’ve had trouble with motivation and energy.
  • Overhaul wardrobe: Create a capsule wardrobe as nice as my budget will allow. :: Still looking for T-shirts and now work blouses. Just haven’t been able to do much shopping, period.
  • RPR: Plan to take the last RPR of 2016! No idea what this actually looks like yet, but I will start planning soon. :: Hoping some bugs get worked out before I attempt this and pay for it. The test is all online but, from what I hear, the experience can be quite rough. I’ve been through that before and would prefer avoiding it.

As much as I’d like to blame my tiredness and frustration and “stuck”-ness on a lack of vacation or a lack of money or lack of this or that, the main source of joy or sadness comes from my own heart. There is so much to be thankful for. If I don’t choose thankfulness, I am choosing to sin.

Leave a Reply

