2015 Recap and 2016 Goals

Standard

2015 has wrapped up. Unfortunately, my writing will not be super inspiring or creative. The whirlwind of the holidays and some other things going on have left me dizzy and weary. But I didn’t want to miss the opportunity to record what impacted me most this year:

The Lord provides.

The financial strain of making a living here in Southern California was especially acute this year. Week after week the Lord sent us a new trust exercise.  (Please appreciate the fact that there is so much detail I won’t go into here.) But He was looking out for us the whole time. “Somehow” we managed to pay every bill every month even though we often didn’t know when or from where the next paycheck would come. We actually enjoyed having a little extra these last couple months.

I personally like to run my finances in an orderly manner, but much of it was simply outside my control. I am certain the Lord was using these opportunities to show me specifically that I have been sinning by putting my faith and security in money. I am thankful He allowed me to recognize this, and so gently. We could have suffered great material loss, but we didn’t.

Lord, give me a grateful, trusting, content heart and a discerning, diligent attitude while handling the money You provide for us.

With that, I won’t go over my 2015 goals a 13th time. Some of them were met, some were not. They helped me realize where my realistic priorities lie, so that’s what I will focus on in 2016.

These goals are a little rough and not thought out very well, but they have been on my mind for a while now. It’s a place to start.

  • Priority:  Start each day off with the Lord and remember that my life, my soul, and my loved ones depend on it. Wake up early; begin day in the Word and in prayer; and use extra alone-time to work out, shower, and start breakfast before the little wakes up.
  • Give more: Give more of my time, my money, my energy, and my heart to others.
  • Make our home a pleasant place to live in:  Simplify by getting rid of unused items; efficiently organize what we keep; make what we have more comfortable; and creatively decorate on a budget.
  • Pay off debt: Put an end to our consumer debts and start chipping away at our student loan debt.
  • T-Tapp program: Therapeutically approach my fitness with T-Tapp, yoga, and daily walking.
  • Overhaul wardrobe: Create a capsule wardrobe as nice as my budget will allow.
  • RPR: Plan to take the last RPR of 2016! No idea what this actually looks like yet, but I will start planning soon.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

