2015 Goals: Where Am I At?

Standard

Festive cheer is in the air now that the holidays are upon us. We spent Thanksgiving with new and newer friends and it was lovely. Then my girl and I got sick the day afterwards with both a nasty cold and a tummy bug. Thank goodness we had a long weekend with no other obligations (and thank goodness we didn’t miss out on the holiday itself!). Now we’re just praying nobody gets sick on or before Christmas because we’re the hosts!

What a blessing that at the last minute a few more goals have been met!

  • Pay off debt :: I went into last month thinking we wouldn’t get further ahead, but guess what! The Lord provided a way to pay off a significant portion of the other things we’ve been working on, and it’s looking like we’ll be able to start 2016 with a much simpler budget. We traded in our car and upgraded to a new one, and I honestly am not happy about what that means for our long-term financial goals. But the hubby made an executive decision and I am trusting the Lord once again to provide what we need. Plus, it’s pretty nice driving a newer, more spacious, more economical vehicle. Financial freedom is an excellent thing, but it too can become an idol.
  • Grow my hair out long again :: I gave up co-washing. My hair isn’t curly enough to need so much moisture. So now I’m back to washing with Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle shampoo and conditioner, both diluted in the bottle to a 1:1 ratio with water. It is working so well; for once I am really happy with the results! My hair definitely needs a trim, though. The shortest layers are just barely at shoulder level. I can curl it and it still looks like a medium-length cut, so I think I can say I met this goal!
  • Potty train our daughter :: I think we’ve turned the corner! It’s up to me to remind her 90% of the time that she needs to pee on the potty, and she will hide in her closet to poop her pants if I don’t catch her. But otherwise, we are down to only using disposable pull-ups at nap time and bedtime.
  • Print and frame several family pictures; send small prints to grandparents and family members. :: We have yet to take a nice family picture worth sharing as a gift. 
  • Stock up on earthquake emergency food and supplies. Start out by filling up our empty containers with various grains/seeds/legumes to store for a rainy day. Stock up on medicine and first aid supplies, sources of power and light, etc. :: Consider this goal rolled over indefinitely.
  • Continue building physical strength and stamina. By the end of the year, I want to be strong enough to bust out 10 pull-ups from a dead hang and 50 push-ups. :: I haven’t even felt like walking or easy yoga lately! Not sure why there’s such a lack of motivation — it’s not normal, even during cooler weather. I plan to buy T-Tapp pretty soon. I have embraced the fact that I cannot perform daily activities optimally because of a hormone problem, so it is best not to worsen the issue by overexerting myself (as much as I would like a leaner physique). I could fill an entire post with various reasons why I think this is a good idea, so I plan to document everything surrounding T-Tapp when I finally try it out.

2015 has been such an interesting, challenging, and exciting year. Now I’m less than a month away from an entirely new year with new goals to make. The older I get, though, the more I realize how important it is to have an eternal perspective and to realize that I am getting by on God’s grace alone, not by my own strength and accomplishments. If I am killed in a car crash tomorrow or next week, what will really matter? What substance was there, really? Am I living to please the Lord or myself? Let’s live like we’re dying.

Leave a Reply

