2015 Goals: Where Am I At?

Standard

Fall has finally arrived in Southern California! It went from summer to winter overnight. We are suddenly lighting fires, adding covers to the bed, and using the oven and dryer again. I LOVE it.

I don’t have any winter clothes, though — no appropriate clothes for any season, for that matter — and no money to go buy some, so I’m being forced to get creative. I will try selling my pieces in good shape, using the cash to shop at thrift stores.

Also, one of my previous goals for this year was to start the GAPS diet with my family. We didn’t (that’s old news), but we DID start full-time paleo! After experiencing the worst heartburn he has ever had, the hubs agreed to try paleo out and see if it helped. Surprise, surprise, it sure did, and we are all feeling better in many ways.

So where am I at with these goals? Less than two months are left in the year; I guess it’s time to start thinking about what I’ll work on in 2016. It’s amazing how my perspective has changed by keeping track of these goals on a monthly basis. When you are regularly reminded of what you started, it becomes clearer what you should prioritize.

  • Pay off debt :: While it doesn’t look like we’ll make much more progress in 2015, we make a little headway every month. We can look forward to another TWO chunks of debt being paid off in about 3-6 months, which will be thrilling.
  • Grow my hair out long again. :: I’ve started co-washing (washing only with conditioner) as an experiment and am on the fence deciding whether or not to stick with it. However, my hair is growing faster. So while I don’t exactly love the texture or shape of it, I’m glad to see progress.
  • Potty train our daughter. :: She now assertively prefers to wear underwear at home now. I still remind her to go potty, she still wears disposables when sleeping, and we still have accidents here and there, but overall she is doing well with this. Soon I will start asking those who babysit her to help out with this step when I’m not around.
  • Print and frame several family pictures; send small prints to grandparents and family members. :: I guess I know what I’ll be doing for simple and inexpensive Christmas presents!
  • Stock up on earthquake emergency food and supplies. Start out by filling up our empty containers with various grains/seeds/legumes to store for a rainy day. Stock up on medicine and first aid supplies, sources of power and light, etc. :: Nooooope. At this point I don’t think we can afford it, even for Christmas.
  • Continue building physical strength and stamina. By the end of the year, I want to be strong enough to bust out 10 pull-ups from a dead hang and 50 push-ups. :: As well as I was doing, I don’t think I can accomplish either of these by the end of next month. Totally disappointing, but I’m slowly making peace with the fact that my body is not ready for these things. Hormonal problems and stress are really affecting my willingness to put myself through grueling workouts, even if they’re short, even once or twice a week. I would really, really like to try the T-Tapp program, maybe combining it with my usual walking and more consistent yoga.
Leave a Reply

