2015 Goals: Where Am I At?

Standard

It’s June! The year is almost halfway over! Can you believe it?

  • Start a blog
  • Hit the ground running with my court reporting career. For now that means starting with simpler, easier work; learning as much as I can; working as often as possible to get the financial ball rolling; and working my way up the totem pole as my skills, knowledge, resources, and equipment investments increase. :: Still at the bottom of the deposition totem pole, but I started grand jury work a few weeks ago. It is difficult, but an excellent income supplement. Hoping for more of it in the coming months.
  • Pay off debt; namely, the credit cards, car payment, a contract we don’t use anymore, and (at least put a dent in) my school loans. :: We’ve had more trouble here, and it is discouraging. Trying to be patient and at peace with where the Lord has us. Also praying the hubby will find a good full-time job this summer!
  • Do the GAPS diet with my family. We’ll spend from January to May gradually eliminating foods and stocking up on supplies until we start the Introduction phase in June. I am praying this will be most helpful for my husband who is desperate to solve some major neurological and digestive complaints; but I also hope it will resolve some hormonal, digestive, immune, and skin issues for myself and food sensitivities for our daughter. :: Schedules and finances certainly aren’t stable enough for this yet, and I’ve been compromising even my own loosely healthy diet left and right. I’ve chosen my battles.
  • Start an organic pot garden on our apartment patio. I’ll start with some fresh herbs and flowers, maybe branching out to some fruits and vegetables that can grow in small spaces. :: I started a garden! On Mother’s Day, the hubby got me a small rose plant and some potted mint as a gift. Since then, I’ve picked up a few “established” potted organic herbs from the grocery store. So much for starting from seedlings, but I guess the easy method is what this overachiever needed. I love my little adopted plant family.
  • Grow my hair out long again. :: My hair looks awful right now. When will the awkward stages end?
  • Potty train our daughter (preferably by springtime). :: Even more progress! Motivated by stickers and bites of cookies, we’re getting more poops on the potty now. Accidents still happen, but we’ve come a long way.
  • Print and frame several family pictures; send small prints to grandparents and family members. :: I actually did something here! The hubby needed a couple of prints, so I decided to capitalize on an online deal and order enough prints to fill up our first wedding album and baby album, plus a few extra for framing. Eventually I’ll do larger, nicer prints for frames and canvases.
  • Stock up on earthquake emergency food, water, and supplies. Start out by filling up our empty containers with beans, rice, and other grains/seeds/legumes to store for a rainy day. Purchase two 5-gallon water jugs to fill and store, switching out as needed to keep fresh. Have medicine and first aid supplies, sources of power and light, etc. :: Nothing here this month, either.
  • Continue building physical strength and stamina. I am already moderately active, but I’m physically not where I’d like to be. By the end of the year, I want to be strong enough to bust out 10 pull-ups from a dead hang and 50 push-ups. Attainable enough, right? My workouts certainly won’t be limited to these things, however; those are just my weak spots. Something to keep in mind, though: the GAPS diet is a higher priority, and that may interfere with my progress when we begin this summer. Maybe that means I can try out the T-Tapp program, which is another goal of mine. We’ll see! :: I can almost do a full pull-up again from a dead hang. My planks are getting longer, and my kettlebell is feeling a little too light on my good days. Still having trouble with push-ups, though. 
  • Create art and music again. :: Haaaa… but I discovered a new favorite hymn that I hadn’t heard in a while but was thrilled to sing at church a few weeks ago: I Know Whom I Have Believed. Now I’m looking for good versions of hymns to keep on my phone.
Leave a Reply

