2015 Goals: Where Am I At?

Standard

Another busy month has come and gone, and we are one-third of the way through 2015. Besides a day or two here and there to catch up on housework, my main focus has been deposition reporting two to four days a week and helping the hubby with his school as the semester wraps up (we are so ready for summer break!). Our daughter turned two years old and we celebrated our sixth anniversary all in the same week. The warm weather lately has given me such an urge to go on a road trip to the mountains and do some camping. Alas, I cannot act on impulse, so I’ve spent some time daydreaming, reminiscing, and hoping God has big, beautiful mountains in heaven for His outdoorsy citizens.

  • Start a blog
  • Hit the ground running with my court reporting career. For now that means starting with simpler, easier work; learning as much as I can; working as often as possible to get the financial ball rolling; and working my way up the totem pole as my skills, knowledge, resources, and equipment investments increase. :: According to my paychecks, it is evident I am still at the bottom of the deposition reporter totem pole. But just today I was notified that I am cleared to work on some special jobs that are hard for most reporters to come by, and we’re very excited about them! I could start within the next couple of weeks.
  • Pay off debt; namely, the credit cards, car payment, a contract we don’t use anymore, and (at least put a dent in) my school loans. :: Progress is slow, but things are looking better and better. We keep praying and trusting the Lord will continue providing what we need.
  • Do the GAPS diet with my family. We’ll spend from January to May gradually eliminating foods and stocking up on supplies until we start the Introduction phase in June. I am praying this will be most helpful for my husband who is desperate to solve some major neurological and digestive complaints; but I also hope it will resolve some hormonal, digestive, immune, and skin issues for myself and food sensitivities for our daughter. :: Yeah, both the hubby and I agreed that this just can’t happen until our finances and schedules are stable. This might be postponed a few months at least, but we still want to get the whole family on it eventually.
  • Start an organic pot garden on our apartment patio. I’ll start with some fresh herbs and flowers, maybe branching out to some fruits and vegetables that can grow in small spaces. :: Nope, not yet.
  • Grow my hair out long again. :: The shortest layers reach the bottoms of my ears. Grow, hair, grow!
  • Potty train our daughter (preferably by springtime). :: This has been our greatest success this month, and I am thankful. Our daughter wears underwear all day at home now, even during her afternoon naps, and she will use the potty as long as I am diligent to put her on it every one to two hours. We only use one disposable pair of training pants each day (unless she is being babysat, which is a couple days a week), so the two small packs I bought a few weeks ago still haven’t been used up. I am so proud!
  • Print and frame several family pictures; send small prints to grandparents and family members. :: Eh, haven’t put much thought into this, but I still intend to pursue it.
  • Stock up on earthquake emergency food, water, and supplies. Start out by filling up our empty containers with beans, rice, and other grains/seeds/legumes to store for a rainy day. Purchase two 5-gallon water jugs to fill and store, switching out as needed to keep fresh. Have medicine and first aid supplies, sources of power and light, etc. :: Nothing here this month, either.
  • Continue building physical strength and stamina. I am already moderately active, but I’m physically not where I’d like to be. By the end of the year, I want to be strong enough to bust out 10 pull-ups from a dead hang and 50 push-ups. Attainable enough, right? My workouts certainly won’t be limited to these things, however; those are just my weak spots. Something to keep in mind, though: the GAPS diet is a higher priority, and that may interfere with my progress when we begin this summer. Maybe that means I can try out the T-Tapp program, which is another goal of mine. We’ll see! :: I started really pushing the fitness as much as I could in these last few weeks. I can’t work out every day, but the motivation has returned.
  • Create art and music again. :: I plunked a few keys on the piano and drew with my daughter’s crayons… does that count?
Leave a Reply

