Gorilla Breakfast Smoothie

Standard

When we first started drinking raw milk and it was cheap and we always had extra on hand (oh, how spoiled we were!), I had to find ways to use it all before it soured.

I was also attempting to become a runner at the time. I would go in the mornings, trying to get it over with before the hot summer sun rose, and I’d come back craving something cold and satisfying. I don’t even remember how making myself a smoothie was inspired — probably by a protein smoothie recipe on a running website or Allrecipes.com. Either way, it was pre-Pinterest and my ideas were slightly more original.

This became my summer go-to breakfast, yet another one that I really look forward to. Getting excited about breakfast is important, I think. It sets the mood for the whole day. I’ve tried all kinds of variations, specifically paleo variations using coconut milk and almond butter, and they are good. But this way is my favorite, and maybe it will be yours too if you’re not eating a strict dairy- or legume-free diet.

Now that the weather is warming up, I have made these every morning for the last few weeks because my toddler daughter LOVES them. I was at a loss for budget-friendly, simple, satisfying breakfasts when she started rejecting scrambled eggs. She’d be complaining of hunger all morning — all day, actually — which added to the stress of life. It’s evident that she’s not a morning person most days, but she cheers up as soon as I remind her that we get to have a smoothie for breakfast. She likes to help by putting the frozen banana chunks in the blender and naming all the ingredients as they go in. She stays happy all morning, and I usually have some left over that I’ll keep in the fridge for a snack later.

in her favorite cup

Gorilla Breakfast Smoothie (serves two)

1 1/2 large or 2 small frozen ripe bananas

1-2 ice cubes

6-8 oz. raw milk (coconut milk for paleo/dairy-free)

2-3 oz. homemade kefir (sub with more coconut milk for paleo/dairy-free)

3 Tbsp all-natural, salted peanut butter (sub another nut butter for paleo/legume-free)

2-3 Tbsp unrefined coconut oil

splash of vanilla extract

1/4 tsp cooked maca powder (optional)*

Throw it all in your blender and whir it up until it is smooth and creamy (takes about 30 seconds in my beloved Blendtec). Add more milk or kefir if you need more liquid. For a chocolatey version, add about 2 tsp cocoa powder/raw cacao powder and a little more milk before blending. Consume with a side of animal protein.

*After pouring my daughter’s serving, I will add the maca for myself and re-blend for a few seconds.

One response »

  1. Pingback: A Non-Athlete’s Experience with the Tough Mudder | The Hippie Help Meet

Leave a Reply

